- Set and change the default project role of users
- faster integration of users into projects by preset access and editing rights
- Deviations from the default project role via "Edit project role" on the user detail page
Function and advantage of the Default project role
All Alasco users receive a default project role, which will allow them to be included in new projects even faster and more reliably in the future. If users are granted project access in the future, they will automatically receive the default project role. This saves valuable time when defining and managing access rights. If the default project role does not apply in a particular case, admins can of course adapt it for the user on a project-specific basis.
Adding new users
When creating a user account, you will be prompted to specify a default project role for the user. With this, you determine the read and write permissions of your user for all projects assigned to them. In the following step, you can assign projects to the user, for which he/she will then have access and editing rights. The default project role is applied exclusively to projects that have already been assigned and has no influence on projects that have not also been assigned to the user.
Assigning the default project role to existing users
Note: This paragraph applies to all users who already had an active Alasco account before 05.05.2022. This is not relevant for users added after that date.
Based on their project roles, all existing users will be assigned a default project role that grants them the fewest access rights. Example: A user has access to three projects, in two of them as a manager and in one as an observer. Consequently, the observer was automatically set as the default project role. Of course, existing access rights to already assigned projects do not change. If an admin would like to adjust the default project role for users, one can do by clicking on "Edit user and role". Then select the desired access rights in the drop-down menu under Default project role. With a click on "Configure role", you can define a separate revenue standard project role - if the functional area Revenues is enabled. If the default project role for a user is changed, all project roles already defined will remain. If all project roles are to be adapted to the new standard, it is necessary to revoke access for all projects for users and then reassign them.
Deviations from the default project role
On the user details page, you will find the "Assigned Projects" table. In this view, all projects are listed to which users have access. If the default project role set here is not applicable for an individual project, you can create a special rule using the "Edit project role" button.