Deactivate projects

Overview

  • Starting the project deactivation flow
  • Impacts on project participants
  • Adjusting access to deactivated projects
  • Viewing deactivated projects
  • Reactivating deactivated projects

 

Introduction

Deactivating projects allows completed projects to be stored within Alasco while ensuring access to critical project information and data at any time. This can be particularly useful for analysing the performance and efficiency of future projects in comparison to completed projects.

Note:

Deactivating a project in Alasco does not automatically trigger an adjustment to your contract with Alasco GmbH. If a project ends and your contract requires adjustment, please contact your designated contact person or customersuccess@alasco.de.

 

Deactivating a project

To deactivate a project, select the project and then select the project settings from the menu on the left-hand side of the screen. Alternatively, the project settings can be accessed directly from the project drop-down menu at the top left of the screen. To do this, click on the settings icon to the right of the name of the relevant project. It is important to note that only admins can deactivate projects.

When in the project settings, click the "Actions" button at the top right of the screen and select "Deactivate" to start the project deactivation flow.

Impacts on project participants

In the pop-up window, the implications of deactivation will be outlined. Project deactivation primarily affects project participants' access rights, restricting project editing for all users.

By default, project participant access changes according to their project roles:

  • Manager --> View only
  • Observer --> View only
  • Internal employee --> View only
  • External employee --> unassign from project
  • External employee (workflows only) --> unassign from project

Adjusting access to deactivated projects

If the default settings do not apply, permissions can be manually adjusted during the project deactivation flow by clicking "Configure Permissions". Here, all users with access to the project and their project roles are listed, and future permissions can be edited accordingly. The following options are available:

  • Active: Permissions for the project role remain, regardless of the project's status.
  • View only: The user sees all data as they were able to before but can no longer edit it.
  • Unassign from project: The user no longer has access to the project.

Click "Save" to confirm adjusted permissions, then "Deactivate Project" to complete the process.

Note:

Before deactivating a project, ensure the following measures are taken to avoid potential issues:

  • Ensure all tasks (invoices and change orders still in review) are completed.
  • Recurring invoices linked to this project might still be generated depending on the settings established. This can result in data discrepancies in project totals. Consider ending or modifying recurring invoices.

 

Deactivated projects

Deactivated projects continue to appear in Alasco as long as the user has "view only" or "active" access to them. If access rights were revoked during the project deactivation flow, the projects will no longer be displayed in the respective account.

Deactivated projects are easily identifiable in the multi-project dashboard by the "Inactive" status and the archived icon in the project drop-down menu on the top left. A banner is displayed across the top once the project is selected.

Note:

Invoices sent to a deactivated project's email address will still arrive in Alasco and remain in the first step of the invoice workflow.

 

Reactivating deactivated projects

Deactivated projects can be reactivated at any time. It is important to note that only admins can reactivate projects.

To reactivate a deactivated project, select the project and then select the project settings from the menu on the left-hand side of the screen. Alternatively, the project settings can be accessed directly from the project drop-down menu at the top left of the screen. To do this, click on the settings icon to the right of the name of the relevant project.

When in the project settings, click the "Actions" button at the top right of the screen and select "Reactivate" to reactivate the project.

Note:

Reactivating a project does not automatically restore project assignments revoked during the project deactivation flow. If, for example, access to the project was revoked for an external employee during deactivation, it is necessary to grant access again under the "Assigned Users" tab after reactivation.

LEGAL

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Articles in this section

We are here for you
We are happy to support you personally from Monday to Friday between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm.