Overview
Introduction
Alasco offers a multi-tiered role concept to ensure that every user receives the necessary permissions based on their responsibilities and tasks, while simultaneously limiting access to relevant information only. Please note that communication features like tagging colleagues in comments (@mentions) respect existing access rights. Users can only be tagged if they have access to the underlying object. Additionally, new products (e.g., "Appraisals") may have specific activation and access controls at the account or user level that go beyond standard roles.
The assignment of roles and corresponding access permissions is determined when a user is invited. Every user in Alasco always has a User type, which defines their general user status across the account, and a User role, which specifies the permissions they have within a specific project. User roles and their permissions can be customised, for example, to align with various departments.
Both the User type and the User role can be edited at any time by an admin in the master data under the "User management" tab.
Each user has a default role that is assigned when they are invited. This role applies initially when the user is granted access to a new project unless the role is specifically adjusted during the project assignment.
User type
The User type determines the level of access a user has to the account’s available features and, most importantly, to the master data in Alasco.
The three user types are:
-
Admin: Is able to manage the entire Alasco account (edit projects, users, etc.). In addition, admins have the following extended management rights:
Manage absences and substitutes for other users.
Assign asset classes to projects.
Full transparency in the change history (audit trail) across all FinCon objects.
Create, edit, and delete custom KPI columns in the cost control view.
Regular user: Has read-only access to certain areas at the account level. Regular users can also view custom KPI columns created by admins in their cost control views.
External user: Has no access to the account level
Note:
If the revenues and/or financing functionalities are available in your Alasco account, you can configure user access to these areas independently of their user type and associated editing rights for the costs, master data and project settings functionalities through user roles.
The Admin user type is the most powerful role in Alasco. Users with admin rights have full access to account master data and can read and edit it without restrictions.
The Regular user type, compared to admins, has limited access to account master data. For instance, regular users can add contractors but only have read access to most of the master data. They do not have access to project settings, project groups, custom fields, user management, or the change history.
The External user type has no access to the account’s master data.
Create a new project role
With project roles, you can control the level of access a user has to the costs, revenues, financing, and project documents areas within a project in Alasco.
You can create multiple roles in advance to represent different departments or business units for instance. Users are then assigned to these roles and automatically inherit the associated permissions.
To create a new role, navigate to the "Roles" tab within the User management section to view all existing roles, edit or delete them, and create new ones. Default external roles for new accounts now include standard cost element restrictions by default (the "Contractor" role has been removed as a default role for new accounts).
Click the "+ Add role" button in the upper right corner to create a new role. In the subsequent window, name the role and select one of our predefined categories in the "Field of occupation" field. Optionally, add a description for the role. Click "Save" to create the new role.
Once the role is created, you will be directed to the role’s detail page. Here, you will also see a list of all users assigned to this role in at least one project (including an indicator if it is their default role). The middle section displays the areas in Alasco that users with this role can access. You can set permissions for costs, revenues, financing, and project documents. Additionally, admins can configure flexible cost group restrictions per project on the role level. Access can be differentiated between can edit, can view, and no access.
Click the "Actions" button on the right side of the screen to adjust the basic information of the role or to delete the role.
Note:
Users with write access to projects will see a GFA widget on the global dashboard, allowing them to directly add missing floor area details.
Attention:
Please note that a project role can only be deleted if no users are assigned to it, and deleted project roles cannot be restored.
The six permission levels in the Costs functional area are:
Full access
Standard access
Limited access
View only access
Task only access
No access
The three permission levels in the Revenues functional area are:
- Full access
- View only access
- No access
The two permission levels in the Financing functional area are:
- Full access
- No access
The permission levels for Project documents are:
- Full access
- No access
Permission levels
The following shows the levels of authorization that you can set in your project roles. The roles determine which data a user can read or edit (create, change and delete).
Read access allows a user to view the corresponding content and download it as a PDF or Excel file. With editing rights, new contracts or contract units can be created and existing ones can be changed. When taking over tasks (e.g., as a substitute or due to permissions), you must open the relevant invoice or change order; the option is now available as a button in the banner or under "Other actions," triggering a confirmation modal.
Costs
Full access
Project roles with the Full access permission in the Costs section have the highest permissions and can see and edit all data within the Costs section of a project. They can also create exports of cost monitoring and cash outflow, attach documents to budget versions, and mark approved invoices as paid via the payment reconciliation (by importing bank statements) or the bulk payments page.
Standard access
Project roles with standard access authorization in the Costs area have only limited editing rights within the Costs area of a project compared to full access. Roles with this access can edit their tasks (invoice and, if applicable, change order verification), contracts, change orders and invoices. Although budgets and contract units are still visible, they can no longer be edited and they do not have access to cost monitoring or cash flow. Documents can also be added and viewed on budget versions. Similar to full access, invoices can be marked as paid via the bulk payments page.
Tip:
If you want to further restrict the write and read access of a project role in the costs area, you can configure the flexible cost group restriction individually for each project at the role level. Project managers can also view a read-only page of these cost element restrictions for a user in the project settings.
Limited access
Project roles with the Restricted Access permission in the Costs area can only edit their tasks (invoice and change order verification). Contract units, contracts, change orders and invoices are still visible, but can no longer be edited. Roles with this permission do not have access to budgets (including associated budget documents), cost monitoring or cash outflow.
Tip:
If you want to further restrict the write and read access of a project role in the costs area, you can configure the flexible cost group restriction individually for each project at the role level. Project managers can also view a read-only page of these cost element restrictions for a user in the project settings.
View only access
Project roles with read access authorization in the Costs area can only process their tasks (invoice and change order verification). Budgets, contract units, contracts, change orders and invoices can still be viewed but no longer processed. They can also create exports of cost monitoring and cash flow.
Tip:
If you want to further restrict the read access of a project role in the costs area, you can configure the flexible cost group restriction individually for each project at the role level. Project managers can also view a read-only page of these cost element restrictions for a user in the project settings.